BHSc Students among award winners at 2018 Health Sciences Convocation

BHSc Students among award winners at 2018 Health Sciences Convocation

Blake Oliver is presented with the President’s Award for Excellence in Student Leadership by Dr. Patrick Dean, McMaster President (top); Dean of the Faculty of Health Sciences Dr. Paul O’Byrne presents Michael Youssef with the Governor-General’s Academic Medal (bottom).

The BHSc (Hons) Program was thrilled to celebrate the 580th Convocation of McMaster University was held last Thursday, May 24, 2018.  BHSc Graduates celebrated with their families at an informal graduation breakfast at LIUNA Station that morning before the formal ceremonies in the afternoon at the First Ontario Concert Hall in Hamilton.  Graduates received their degrees on the authority of the Senate of McMaster University and at the hands of McMaster’s Chancellor Dr. Suzanne LaBarge.

In addition to the celebration of graduands, BHSc grads were also among the major award winners of the afternoon.  McMaster’s President, Dr. Patrick Deane, presented the President’s Award of Excellence in Student Leadership to Blake Oliver, and the Governor-General’s Academic Medal was presented to Michael Youssef by Dr. Paul O’Byrne, Dean of the Faculty of Health Sciences.

Video of the convocation ceremony will soon be available on McMaster’s YouTube channel.

Congratulations to everyone graduating from McMaster this Spring!  The BHSc Community is so proud of all of you, and we hope you’ll keep in touch!